CCMTA AWARDS

Jennie Howie Government Member Award

The Jennie Howie Government Member Award is presented annually to a CCMTA member whose primary function is directly associated with the coordination, administration, regulation, and control of motor vehicle transportation and highway safety, and who has made a significant contribution to CCMTA.

Jennie Howie was a long-time member of CCMTA representing the Yukon Territory. Active in CCMTA's Road Safety Research and Policies Program Committee as well as the Board of Directors, she served as Chair of the Board from May 2000 to June 2001. After an eight-year battle with cancer, Jennie passed away peacefully on January 5, 2005. The Government Member Award was renamed in 2006 to honour her many contributions to the organization.

Road Safety Award

Created in support of *Road Safety Strategy 2025: Towards Zero - The Safest Roads in the World*, the CCMTA Road Safety Award recognizes strategies aimed at reducing injury and death on Canada's roads.

Sean McAlister Service Recognition

Sean McAlister Service Recognition is presented to an active member of the CCMTA Board, program committee or project group for more than five years, upon their departure or retirement and to CCMTA staff members upon completion of 15 and 25 years of service and upon retirement.

In 2017, CCMTA dedicated its Recognition of Service presentation to Sean McAlister in his memory. Sean was well-known within the CCMTA community, having served as both staff and volunteer with CCMTA at various times throughout his career. Sean was a devoted employee of CCMTA in the late 1980s and 1990s, and then moved on to the BC provincial government in 2000 and maintained his relationship with CCMTA by serving as the BC member of the Drivers and Vehicles Program Committee. A respected authority within the compliance and regulatory sector as well, Sean's consulting work post 2000 ensured he stayed connected with CCMTA and with the Program Committee on Compliance and Regulatory Affairs. Sean passed away on August 20, 2016, after a courageous battle with cancer.

