Phone: 613.736.1003
Fax: 613.736.1395

Télé: 613.736.1003
Télécopieur: 613.736.1395

Sean McAlister Service Recognition Award

In 2017, CCMTA renamed its Service Recognition Award to the Sean McAlister Service Recognition Award in memory of Sean McAlister. Sean was well-known within the CCMTA community, having served as both staff and volunteer with CCMTA at various times throughout his career. A devoted employee of CCMTA in the late 1980s and 1990s, when Sean’s career brought him to the BC provincial government in 2000, he maintained his relationship with CCMTA as a member of the Drivers and Vehicles Program Committee. A respected authority within the compliance and regulatory sector as well, Sean’s consulting work ensured he stayed connected with CCMTA at with the Program Committee on Compliance and Regulatory Affairs. Sean passed away on August 20, 2016 after a courageous battle with cancer.

The Sean McAlister Service Recognition Award honours an individual who has been an active member of the Board, program committee or project group for more than five years, upon their departure or retirement from a CCMTA volunteer position.

Receipients are recognized throughout the year upon their departure or retirement. If appropriate, recipients may be recognized at the Annual Meeting during the banquet.

2018 Award Recipients


Kim Benjamin - Transport Canada

Kim Benjamin, Director General Road Safety and Motor Vehicle Regulation Transport Canada has a long-standing history with CCMTA. She represented Transport Canada on CCMTA’s Road Safety Research and Policies Program Committee from 2009-2014 and served as a member of the Board of Directors for three years. Although we were sad to see Kim leave CCMTA, we congratulate her on her new position at Transport
Canada’s Surface and Intermodal Security division.


Mark Francis - British Columbia

A member of the Drivers and Vehicles Program Committee since June 2003 and Chair from 2010-2012, Mark is described as consummate professional who always does his best to seek advice from colleagues and CCMTA staff on road safety issues. Mark has been active with numerous groups over the years, including taking on the role of chair for the Vehicle Strategy Overview Group, the Canadian IRP managers, and most recently the Automated Vehicle working group (co-chair). Mark was honoured to be the recipient of the Jennie Howie Government Member Award recipient in 2009. Mark plans to retire from ICBC in July 2018, his expert opinion, and enthusiasm, will be missed by all within the CCMTA community.


Sandy Crighton - Saskatchewan

A long-time member of many Drivers and Vehicles Program Committee groups, including the Canadian Drivers License Agreement, and the Driver Fitness Overview Group, Sandy Crighton retired at the end of 2017 after 38 years with SGI.


Sylvain Tremblay - CCMTA Retirement

After more than 30 years of service to CCMTA, Sylvain Tremblay retired at the end of March 2018. Well regarded and respected by CCMTA members and industry  stakeholders, Sylvain’s lifetime of knowledge, experience and expertise has helped us advance our work. His dedication and commitment to the Compliance and Regulatory Affairs committee is evidence through the many accomplishments achieved over his tenure.


Marc Buckner - CCMTA 15 Years of Service

Marc Buckner, Senior Network Developer, joined the organization in 2003 as Network Developer to support CCMTA’s Interprovincial Records Exchange network. Over the years, Marc has made significant improvements to the network’s technology, capability, and capacity. Marc’s commitment to the IRE and CCMTA is reflected in all his hard work; CCMTA has benefited greatly from his 15 years of service.


Earl G. Cameron - Saskatchewan

After more than four decades within Saskatchewan’s transportation sector, board member Earl G. Cameron retired at the end of December 2017. A strong champion of CCMTA, Earl’s leadership as Chair of the IRE Committee for the past several years provided CCMTA with clear direction and a road map for the future. Not only did Earl provide sound leadership, but he was also a friend to many around the Board table.








































→ Click to view previous award recipients

2017 - Heidi Francic (ON), Robert Murray (NL)
2016 - Ward Keith (MB), Ian Tomlinson (CCMTA), Martin Rochon (CCMTA)

Questions? Please contact Martin Rochon at or at 613-736-1003 ext. 252.