|



In the pursuit of our common vision
of making Canada’s roads the safest
in the world


Road Safety

Addressing road crash casualties is a challenge that each country in the world is facing. Making improvements to our road system of users, infrastructure and vehicles can reduce the number of Canadians that will die or be injured on our roads.  This is particularly important as each year in Canada about 1,800 people are killed and 150,000 are injured, (approximately 10,000 seriously), while using our road transportation system and costs society $37 billion (2.2% of Canadian GDP) annually. 

In Canada, responsibility for road safety is divided among municipal, provincial, territorial and federal jurisdictions and together they support making Canadian roads safer. 


Canada's Road Safety Strategy

Canada's Road Safety Strategy 2025 – Towards Zero: The Safest Roads in the World is Canada's plan to improve safety on our roads.

This strategy builds on the success of earlier campaigns to pursue a long-term vision towards zero fatalities and serious injuries on our roads. It outlines a ten-year timeline to address important road safety issues in Canada, including enhancing enforcement, improving road infrastructure, supporting research, leveraging vehicle safety technologies, and raising public awareness of factors contributing to collisions.  It provides jurisdictions with a framework of best practices to address specific road safety challenges.

Canada’s roads are the safest they’ve been in 60 years; however, we must remain vigilant and that’s why all governments have agreed to pursue a common vision of making our roads the safest in the world.


Drugs and Driving

Drug impaired driving is a growing road safety concern in Canada. Impairment, whether from cannabis, alcohol, prescription or illegal drugs, fatigue or other factors, is a significant road safety issue.

CCMTA members continue to collaborate and work collectively to identify best practices and approaches to policy, legislation, research, public education, and enforcement to address drug impaired driving.

By working together and sharing knowledge, members can determine and evaluate the best strategies to address drug impaired driving and discuss potential solutions that have a pan-Canadian impact.

Alcohol and Drug Roadside Surveys:

Roadside surveys have been conducted by a number of Canadian jurisdictions over the years, including British Columbia, Ontario, Quebec, Manitoba, Northwest Territories and Yukon. These surveys were originally developed to assess alcohol use by drivers, but over time, methods have been adjusted to include drug use by drivers.

Additional Research and Resources:

Alcohol and Drug Crash Problem in Canada

This report describes the magnitude and characteristics of the alcohol-crash and drug-crash problems in Canada during a particular year, trends in these problems, and comparisons between jurisdictions.

It examines data on alcohol in fatally injured drivers and pedestrians; the number and percent of people who died in alcohol-related crashes; alcohol involvement in those crashes in which someone was seriously injured but not killed; and data on drugs in fatally injured drivers.


Distracted Driving

Driver distraction and inattention is one of the leading contributing factors to fatal and serious injury collisions across Canada and as such, CCMTA members recognize that it is a serious and growing threat to road safety in Canada.

Distracted driving is when a driver’s attention is diverted from the driving task by secondary activities (e.g., eating, talking to passengers, talking, or texting on electronic communication devices (ECDs) such as cell phones and smart phones). Although there are many forms of ‘distracted driving’, much of the reported evidence available is related to electronic communication device use.

CCMTA supports its members by providing information and knowledge as they develop policy and legislation to address distracted driving:

Surveys on the Use of Electronic Communication Devices (ECDs) in Canada

Combined Urban / Rural Areas:

Urban Areas:

Rural Areas:


Additional Research and Resources

Countermeasures to Improve Pedestrian Safety
Public Opinion Survey on Road Safety

Collision Data

Canadian Motor Vehicle Traffic Collision Statistics

These pamphlets, published by Transport Canada from data supplied by CCMTA member jurisdictions, details Canadian collision statistics on a yearly basis.


National Collision Database (NCDB) Online

Transport Canada has undertaken to release a subset of the National Collision Database (NCDB) – a database containing all police-reported motor vehicle collisions on public roads in Canada from data supplied by CCMTA member jurisdictions. Selected variables (data elements) relating to fatal and injury collisions for the collisions from 1999 to the most recent available data are now accessible through NCDB  Online.

|



Unis dans la poursuite de notre objectif commun : avoir les routes les plus sûres du monde


Sécurité routière

Tous les pays du monde luttent contre les accidents de la route. La réduction du nombre de blessés ou tués sur la route passe par une amélioration des comportements, des infrastructures et des véhicules. Chaque année, au Canada, les accidents de la route font environ 1 800 morts et 150 000 blessés (dont 10 000 blessés graves), et coûtent 37 milliards de dollars à la société (ce qui représente 2,2 % du PIB).

Les administrations municipales, provinciales, territoriales et fédérales se partagent la responsabilité de la sécurité routière et travaillent ensemble à réduire le nombre d’accidents.


Stratégie de sécurité routière du Canada

La Stratégie de sécurité routière 2025 – Vision zéro : les routes les plus sûres du monde vise à améliorer la sécurité sur nos routes.

Prenant appui sur des campagnes antérieures ayant fait leurs preuves, cette stratégie s’étendant sur dix ans a pour ambition à long terme d’éliminer les décès et les blessures graves sur les routes par le renforcement des mesures coercitives, l’amélioration des infrastructures routières, la recherche, les technologies de sécurité automobile et la sensibilisation du public aux facteurs de risque de collisions. Elle fournit aux administrations un cadre de travail définissant les pratiques exemplaires en la matière.

Les routes canadiennes n’ont jamais été aussi sûres depuis 60 ans. La vigilance reste toutefois de mise, et c’est pourquoi les gouvernements s’entendent aujourd’hui pour adopter une vision commune : celle des routes les plus sûres au monde.


Drogue au volant

La conduite avec facultés affaiblies, que ce soit par le cannabis, l’alcool, les médicaments, la drogue, la fatigue ou d’autres facteurs, pose d’énormes risques pour la sécurité routière.

Pour lutter contre ce problème, les membres du CCATM élaborent de concert les approches et pratiques exemplaires en matière de politiques, de législation, de recherche, de sensibilisation du public et d’application de la loi.

Grâce à cette collaboration et à l’échange de connaissances, les membres déterminent et évaluent les meilleures stratégies et solutions applicables à l’échelle pancanadienne.

Enquêtes routières sur l’alcool et la drogue au volant

La Colombie-Britannique, l’Ontario, le Québec, le Manitoba, les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le Yukon ont mené des enquêtes routières qui évaluaient à l’origine la conduite en état d’ébriété, avant que leur champ d’étude soit élargi à la drogue au volant.

Autres publications et ressources :

Le problème des accidents liés à l’alcool et à la drogue au Canada

Ce rapport décrit l’ampleur et les caractéristiques des problèmes que représentent les collisions liées à l’alcool et à la drogue au Canada au cours d’une année, dégage les tendances générales et établit des comparaisons entre administrations.

Il présente un examen des données sur l’alcool chez les conducteurs et les piétons mortellement blessés, le nombre et le pourcentage de personnes tuées dans des collisions liées à la consommation d’alcool, le rôle de l’alcool dans les collisions où une personne a été grièvement blessée, sans être tuée, et celui de la drogue chez les conducteurs mortellement blessés.


Distraction au volant

La distraction figure parmi les principales causes d’accidents de la route avec décès ou blessures graves au Canada. Les membres du CCATM prennent ce problème très au sérieux.

La distraction au volant survient lorsque l’attention du conducteur est détournée de la conduite par d’autres activités (p. ex., manger, parler aux passagers, parler ou texter à l’aide d’un appareil de communication électronique [ACE] comme un téléphone cellulaire). Bien que les sources de distraction soient nombreuses, la plupart des faits rapportés pointent en direction des appareils de communication électronique.

Le CCATM fournit à ses membres des informations éclairantes afin d’orienter l’élaboration de politiques et de lois pour lutter contre la distraction au volant :

Enquêtes sur l’utilisation d’appareils de communication électronique (ACE) au Canada

Régions urbaines et rurales combinées :

Régions urbaines :

Régions rurales :


Autres publications et ressources

Mesures de prévention pour assurer la sécurité des piétons
Sondage d’opinion publique sur la sécurité routière

Données sur les collisions

Statistiques sur les collisions de la route au Canada

Ces rapports de Transports Canada détaillent les statistiques canadiennes annuelles sur les collisions à partir des données fournies par les administrations membres du CCATM.


Base nationale de données sur les collisions (BNDC) en ligne

Transports Canada a entrepris de diffuser un sous-ensemble de sa Base nationale de données sur les collisions (BNDC) comprenant toutes les collisions automobiles survenues sur les routes publiques du Canada et ayant fait l’objet d’un rapport de police, à partir des données fournies par les administrations membres du CCATM. Les variables sélectionnées (données) en relation avec les collisions mortelles et avec blessures sont maintenant disponibles dans la BNDC en ligne, et ce, pour les collisions de 1999 jusqu’à l’année de données disponibles la plus récente.