|



Sean McAlister Service Recognition


Sean McAlister Service Recognition

In 2017, CCMTA dedicated its Recognition of Service presentation to Sean McAlister in his memory. Sean was well-known within the CCMTA community, having served as both staff and volunteer with CCMTA at various times throughout his career. Sean was a devoted employee of CCMTA in the late 1980s and 1990s, and then moved on to the BC provincial government in 2000 and maintained his relationship with CCMTA by serving as the BC member of the Drivers and Vehicles Program Committee. A respected authority within the compliance and regulatory sector as well, Sean’s consulting work post 2000 ensured he stayed connected with CCMTA and with the Program Committee on Compliance and Regulatory Affairs. Sean passed away on August 20, 2016 after a courageous battle with cancer.

The Sean McAlister Service Recognition honours:
  • an individual who has been an active member of the Board, program committee or project group for more than five years, upon their departure or retirement from a CCMTA volunteer position.
  • staff members upon completion of 15 and 25 years of service, and upon retirement.

Recipients are recognized throughout the year upon their departure or retirement. If appropriate, recipients may be recognized at the Annual Meeting.

CCMTA has honoured the following individuals so far since June 2020:
Terry Wallace, Alberta

Terry has been an active member of the CCMTA Drivers and Vehicles (D&V) Program Committee since 2005. During his tenure as Chair of D&V (2017 to 2019), the Committee completed a number of projects including the re-drafting of NSC Standards 2, 3 and 4, and the updating of several reports and best practices such as the jurisdictional guidelines for ignition interlock programs. Terry plans to retire in January 2021. His leadership and contributions to CCMTA will be missed by all.

Geoff Ewing, Newfoundland and Labrador

Geoff is a long-standing CCMTA member, having represented Newfoundland and Labrador on CCMTA’s Road Safety Research and Policies (RSRP) Program Committee for over 20 years. He served as the Chair of RSRP between 2002 and 2004. In 2007, Geoff represented Newfoundland and Labrador for a short time on the Commercial and Regulatory Affairs (CRA) Program Committee. Geoff has contributed to Canada’s road safety through his participation on working groups including those related to fraud prevention and national collision data. In December 2020, after 24 years with the Newfoundland and Labrador government, Geoff will embark on a well-deserved retirement. CCMTA would like to thank Geoff for his contributions to road safety and wish him all the best on his retirement.

Ron Foord, Saskatchewan

Ron Foord from SGI, a long standing CCMTA member, has represented Saskatchewan for several years with his participation on various D&V and CRA working groups, including being a key member and chair of CAVR/IRP and more recently representing his jurisdiction on the CRA Program Committee. Ron will embark on a well-deserved retirement in July 2020.

Paul Harbottle, Ontario

As an active participant in CCMTA activities over the last 15 years, Paul has contributed to many key initiatives including but not limited to the work of the Canadian Driver Licence Agreement (CDLA) and the publication of new national medical standards and driver fitness guidelines to name a few. Paul was also chair of the CCMTA Drivers and Vehicles Committee from 2012 to 2014. Paul’s inclusive style, hearing all members’ points of view, contributed to the successful completion of many important initiatives. Paul will embark on a well-deserved retirement in January 2021. He will be missed by all.

|



Prix Sean-McAlister de reconnaissance des années de service


Prix Sean-McAlister de reconnaissance des années de service

En 2017, le CCATM a rebaptisé le Prix de reconnaissance des années de service en l’honneur de Sean McAlister. Pilier du CCATM, Sean y a été employé et bénévole de la fin des années 1980 jusqu’au tournant du millénaire et s’est illustré par son dévouement et sa détermination. S’il a quitté l’organisation en 2000 pour poursuivre sa carrière au sein de la fonction publique de la Colombie-Britannique, il n’a pas cessé pour autant d’entretenir des liens solides avec le CCATM en tant que membre du comité des administrateurs de conducteurs et de véhicules. Figure d’autorité de la conformité et de la réglementation, c’est à titre d’expert-conseil que Sean a participé à compter de l’an 2000 aux discussions du comité sur la conformité et la réglementation du CCATM. Il nous a quittés le 20 août 2016 au terme d’un courageux combat contre le cancer.

Le prix Sean-McAlister de reconnaissance des années de services récompense :
  • une personne qui a été un membre actif du conseil d’administration, d’un comité permanent ou d’un groupe de projet durant plus de cinq (5) ans et qui prend sa retraite ou quitte un poste bénévole au CCATM;
  • un membre du personnel du CCATM ayant cumulé quinze (15) ou vingt-cinq (25) années de service, ou qui part à la retraite.

Les lauréats sont reconnus tout au long de l’année à partir de leur départ ou de leur retraite. Si cela est indiqué, leur contribution est soulignée lors de l’assemblée annuelle.

Le CCATM a reconnu les personnes suivantes cette année (depuis juin 2020) :
Terry Wallace, Alberta

Terry siège au comité des administrateurs de conducteurs et de véhicules du CCATM depuis 2005. Sous sa présidence, de 2017 à 2019, ce comité a réalisé bon nombre de projets, dont la révision des normes 2, 3 et 4 du Code canadien de sécurité  et la mise à jour de plusieurs rapports et pratiques exemplaires, telles que les lignes directrices aux administrations sur les programmes d’utilisation d’antidémarreurs. Terry a pris sa retraite en janvier 2021. Son leadership et son apport au CCATM nous manquent à tous.

Geoff Ewing, Terre Neuve et Labrador

Membre de longue date du CCATM, Geoff a représenté Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador pendant plus de 20 ans au Comité de programme sur la sécurité routière – recherche et politiques. Il en a d’ailleurs été président de 2002 à 2004, en plus de brièvement représenter Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, en 2007, au Comité sur la conformité et réglementation. Geoff a contribué à la sécurité routière au Canada par sa participation à plusieurs groupes de travail, notamment ceux concernant la prévention de la fraude et les données nationales sur les collisions. En décembre 2020, après 24 ans au gouvernement de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, Geoff a tiré sa révérence pour prendre une retraite bien méritée. Le CCATM tient à le remercier pour sa contribution à la sécurité routière et lui souhaite la meilleure des retraites.

Ron Foord, Saskatchewan

Ron Foord, de la Société d’assurances du gouvernement de la Saskatchewan, membre de longue date du CCATM, a longtemps représenté sa province au sein de plusieurs groupes de travail des comités C&V et C&R, notamment à titre de membre et de président du CARV/IRP et, plus récemment, de représentant de son administration au comité de programme C&R. Il a pris une retraite bien méritée en juillet 2020.

Paul Harbottle, Ontario

Actif au sein du CCATM depuis 15 ans, Paul s’est investi dans de nombreuses initiatives clés, notamment les travaux entourant l’Entente canadienne sur le permis de conduire et la publication des nouvelles normes médicales d’aptitude à la conduite et des lignes directrices afférentes. Il a également présidé le comité des administrateurs de conducteurs et de véhicules de 2012 à 2014. Son approche rassembleuse, tout particulièrement son attention aux opinions de chaque membre, a contribué à l’aboutissement de plus d’un dossier important. Paul a pris une retraite bien méritée en janvier 2021. Il nous manque déjà.