|



Facilitating the safe and efficient movement of people and goods across Canada


Commercial Motor Vehicle (CMV) Safety

In Canada, commercial motor vehicle safety is a shared responsibility among all levels of government and industry.

Provinces / Territories

Responsible for the enforcement of safety on roads and highways, including driver and vehicle licensing, setting requirements for driver training, as well as rules of the road (e.g., speed limits).

Transport Canada

Responsible for extra-provincial motor carriers transporting goods or passengers across a provincial/territorial or international boundary.

Establishes the Canada Motor Vehicle Safety Standards which outline the safety requirements of vehicles sold in Canada.

Industry Associations

Represent the interests of CMV operators and drivers and work alongside government to inform policy, regulatory, and legislative issues on behalf of their stakeholders.

CCMTA

Provides collaborative leadership in the areas of road safety research and policy, drivers and vehicles, and compliance and regulatory affairs, with a view to ensuring the safe and efficient movement of people and goods in Canada.

Custodian of the National Safety Code which sets out a number of operational safety standards for CMVs.

With the deregulation of transportation in the late 1980’s there was a need for cross Canada harmonization and reciprocity in the management of commercial vehicles. In 1987, the federal, provincial, and territorial Ministers Responsible for Transportation and Highway Safety signed a memorandum of understanding to develop and implement a National Safety Code to encourage road safety, promote efficiency in the motor carrier industry, and achieve consistent safety standards across Canada.

The NSC provides guidance for legislative, regulatory, and administrative action by each jurisdiction and focuses on three components: the driver, the vehicle, and the carrier. It has a specific focus on those responsible for the operation of commercial vehicles on the road, including trucks, buses, tractors and trailers. All provinces and territories use the NSC as the cornerstone of their commercial vehicle regulatory framework, with standards either adopted by reference into jurisdictional regulation or mirrored in provincial and territorial laws.

Provincial and territorial regulations govern the operation of the commercial bus and truck industry except for the rules and regulations Transport Canada sets in support of the safe operation of federally-regulated (extra-provincial) motor carriers and commercial vehicle drivers. The federal government only has authority over extra-provincial truck and bus carriers that carry goods or passengers across a provincial or international boundary.

Matters relating to the vehicle weights and dimensions also falls within the provincial / territorial domain and the enforcement of those laws are within the purview of provincial / territorial law enforcement authorities. There is a Task Force on Vehicle Weights and Dimension mandated to improve uniformity in regulations governing the weights and dimensions of commercial vehicles operating between provinces and territories.


Technical Standard for Electronic Logging Devices

The Canadian Technical Standard for ELDs version 1.2 and the Canadian Geo-location database dated October 27, 2020 replaces the previously posted version 1.1 dated December 9, 2019.

Please contact Transport Canada at MVS-SA@tc.gc.ca for the Transport Canada Canadian Electronic Logging Device Testing Procedures.

CCMTA is providing access to, and views and information in respect of, the Technical Standard for ELDs, the Geo-location database, and the Summary of Amendments (the “standard”) on the following basis:

  • Use of and interpretation of the standard is at your own risk. Under no circumstances will CCMTA be liable to you or any other person for any loss or damage arising from, connected with, or relating to the use or interpretation of the standard by you or any other person.
  • You understand that the standard may change from time-to-time and that you are solely responsible for ensuring you use a current and complete version of the standard. Although reasonable efforts are made by CCMTA to update it on a timely basis on ccmta.ca, the standard available may not be complete and current at any time.
  • Any views on, or information provided in respect of, the standard by CCMTA to you are for convenience and informational purposes only.
  • You should obtain other appropriate and qualified advice from persons other than CCMTA before taking, or refraining from, any action or inaction on the basis of this standard, including in respect of any views or information provided by CCMTA in respect of it.
  • Any views on, or information provided in respect of, the standard by CCMTA are made only in respect of the most recent publicly-available standard, currently dated October 27, 2020, as posted on ccmta.ca.
  • All information from CCMTA is provided on an “as is” and “as available” basis, without any representations, warranties, or implied.

Please contact info@ccmta.ca for any questions related to the Standard and supporting documents.

Resources: 
Canadian Technical Standard for ELDs
Canadian Geo-Location Dataset

Provincial/Territorial subsets are available from CCMTA and/or provinces and territories.

Messages for Industry with Respect to the federal ELD mandate:

Additional Research and Resources

Addressing Human Factors in the Motor Carrier Industry
Vehicle Weights and Dimensions
Dangerous Goods

Canadian provinces/territories model their legislation on the federal regulations /legislation for the Transportation of Dangerous Goods.

Please contact Transport Canada for the Transportation of Dangerous Goods Act and Regulations.

Motor Carrier Operating Authority

Should you wish to conduct regular business in a province/territory on an ongoing basis, operating authority must be sought from each jurisdiction in which you intend to travel.

|



Pour la circulation fluide et sécuritaire des passagers et des marchandises sur les routes du pays


Sécurité des véhicules commerciaux

Au Canada, la sécurité des véhicules commerciaux incombe à la fois aux acteurs de l’industrie et à tous les ordres de gouvernement.

Provinces et territoires

Responsables de l’application de la réglementation encadrant la sécurité routière, ce qui comprend la délivrance de permis de conduire et l’immatriculation des véhicules, la définition des exigences de formation des conducteurs, ainsi que le Code de la route (p. ex., les limites de vitesse).

Transports Canada

Responsable des transporteurs routiers qui transportent des marchandises ou des passagers au-delà d’une frontière provinciale, territoriale ou internationale.

Établit les Normes de sécurité des véhicules automobiles du Canada, qui décrivent les exigences de sécurité des véhicules vendus au pays.

Associations de l’industrie

Représentent les intérêts des exploitants et des chauffeurs de véhicules commerciaux et collaborent avec les gouvernements pour apporter un éclairage sur des dossiers stratégiques, réglementaires et législatifs au nom des parties qu’elles représentent.

CCATM

Favorise un leadership collaboratif dans plusieurs domaines (recherche et politiques en matière de sécurité routière, conducteurs et véhicules, conformité et réglementation), en vue d’assurer la circulation sécuritaire et efficace des personnes et des marchandises au Canada..

Responsable du Code canadien de sécurité (CCS), qui établit certaines normes au regard de la sécurité dans l’exploitation des véhicules commerciaux.

Vers la fin des années 1980, la déréglementation des transports pousse les administrations canadiennes à se concerter pour encadrer efficacement le transport routier dans l’ensemble du pays. En 1987, les ministres responsables des transports et de la sécurité routière signent le protocole d’entente pour la mise en œuvre du Code canadien de sécurité (CCS) dans l’optique de promouvoir la sécurité routière, de favoriser l’efficacité de l’industrie du transport routier et d’établir des normes de sécurité uniformes partout au Canada.

Le CCS fournit aux membres du CCATM un cadre législatif, réglementaire et administratif comportant trois volets : les conducteurs, les véhicules et les transporteurs. Il s’adresse en particulier aux gestionnaires de parcs de véhicules commerciaux, comme les camions, les autocars et les poids lourds. C’est la pierre angulaire du cadre réglementaire des provinces et des territoires, ses normes étant soit intégrées par renvoi dans les textes de loi, soit reflétées dans ceux-ci.

Les règlements provinciaux et territoriaux régissent les activités de l’industrie des camions lourds et des autobus commerciaux, sauf pour les règlements qu’établit Transports Canada à l’appui de la sécurité des activités des transporteurs routiers et des conducteurs de véhicules utilitaires (extraprovinciaux) sous réglementation fédérale. Le gouvernement fédéral n’exerce son autorité que sur les exploitants de camions et d’autobus qui transportent des marchandises et des passagers au-delà d’une frontière provinciale ou internationale.

Les questions se rapportant au poids et aux dimensions des véhicules relèvent également du domaine provincial/territorial et l’application de ces lois est du ressort des autorités chargées de l’application des lois provinciales/territoriales. Un Groupe de travail sur le poids et la dimension des véhicules a été établi avec le mandat d’améliorer l’uniformité dans la réglementation qui régit le poids et la dimension des véhicules utilitaires circulant d’une province ou d’un territoire à l’autre.


Norme technique sur les dispositifs de consignation électroniques

La version 1.2 de la Norme technique en matière de dispositifs de consignation électroniques et la base de données des géolocalisations canadiennes datée du 27 octobre 2020, remplacent la version 1.1, datée du 9 décembre 2019.

Écrivez à MVS-SA@tc.gc.ca  pour obtenir les procédures de test pour les dispositifs de consignation électroniques de Transports Canada.

Le CCATM est heureux de communiquer des opinions et de l’information sur la Norme technique en matière de dispositifs de consignation électroniques, les données des géolocalisations canadiennes et le sommaire des modifications (la « norme »), selon les conditions suivantes :

  • L’utilisation et l’interprétation de la norme sont à vos propres risques. En aucun cas le CCATM ne sera tenu responsable envers vous ou quiconque pour les pertes ou dommages résultant de l’utilisation ou de l’interprétation de la norme par vous ou tout autre individu, ou ayant un quelconque lien avec son utilisation ou son interprétation.
  • Vous comprenez que la norme peut être modifiée et vous assumez l’entière responsabilité d’utiliser la version actuelle et complète de cette dernière. Bien que le CCATM déploie tous les efforts raisonnables pour la mettre à jour en temps opportun sur ccmta.ca, il est possible que la norme affichée sur le site Web ne soit ni complète ni actuelle à un moment donné.
  • Toute opinion ou information sur la norme qui vous est fournie par le CCATM est mise à votre disposition à des fins pratiques et informatives seulement.
  • Il vous incombe d’obtenir des conseils pertinents de personnes qualifiées autres que le CCATM avant de prendre, ou de vous abstenir de prendre, toute mesure ou décision fondée sur cette norme ou sur toute opinion ou information fournie par le CCATM à cet égard.
  • Toute opinion ou information transmise par le CCATM sur la présente norme se rapporte exclusivement à sa plus récente version, actuellement datée du 27 octobre 2020 et publiée sur ccmta.ca.
  • Toute information communiquée par le CCATM est fournie telle quelle et selon sa disponibilité sans déclaration, garantie, ni condition d’aucune sorte, expresse ou implicite.

Écrivez à info@ccmta.ca pour toute question relative à la norme et aux documents qui l’accompagnent.

Ressources:

Norme technique en matière de dispositifs de consignation électroniques
Base de données des géolocalisations canadiennes

Les données par province ou territoire sont disponibles auprès du CCATM ou des provinces et territoires respectifs

Messages à l’intention des acteurs du milieu concernant le règlement qui rendra obligatoire l’utilisation du DCE:

Autres publications et ressources

Les facteurs humains dans l’industrie du transport routier au Canada (en anglais seulement)
Poids et dimensions des véhicules (en anglais seulement)
Marchandises dangereuses

Les provinces et territoires du Canada modulent leur législation selon les lois et règlements fédéraux en matière de transport de marchandises dangereuses.

Contactez Transports Canada pour obtenir des renseignements sur la loi et les règlements sur le transport des marchandises dangereuses.

Permis d’exploitation d’un service de transport

Si vous souhaitez exploiter un service de transport au Canada, vous devez obtenir un permis de chaque province ou territoire où circuleront vos véhicules.